Our Organization & Leadership

Home / Our Organization & Leadership

Our Leadership

Ray Larsen

Co-Founder & Chair

Ray Larsen is co-founder and chair of IEEE Smart Village, which combines the talents of IEEE members with community-owned business partners in energy-impoverished regions to create self-sustaining, micro-utilities and education programs. As chair of the organization’s Executive committee, Ray is responsible for leading IEEE Smart Village’s total operation including nurturing ten new partnerships each year, each of which pledges to grow to serve a million people. Ray is past head of the Electronics Department at SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory at Stanford University, Past President of the IEEE Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society, an IEEE Life Fellow and currently a part-time  Special Projects engineering manager at the SLAC in Menlo Park, California

Dr. Robin Podmore

Co-Founder & Vice Chair

Dr. Robin Podmore is co-founder and co-chair of IEEE Smart Village, as well as chair of the ISV Development Committee. He is also founder and President of Incremental Systems Corp. (IncSys), a private company that helps organizations train system operators to ensure reliability of the bulk power system. Robin is passionately dedicated to using his own expertise and inspiring others, including industry partners to help energy-impoverished communities build toward sustainable prosperity. In the markets that IEEE Smart Village serves, he actively promotes IEEE Smart Village’s open-source products and encourages industry to participate in consensus development of technology-interoperability standards needed for market acceptance and  investor confidence in ISV’s community entrepreneurs.

Dr. Alan Mickelson

Chair: ISV Operations Committee

Dr. Alan Mickelson is chair of the ISV Operations Committee. He has been on the faculty of at the University of Colorado at Boulder for going on 35 years after a one year postdoc in Soviet Armenia and 4 years on staff of the Electronics Laboratory of the Norwegian University of Science and Technology. Alan’s primary research field has been optical and microwave technologies for communication. Alan has also implemented wireless communication for sparsely populated remote areas in Nepal, Peru, Rwanda and Bolivia and solar energy training in Haiti. Alan received a BSEE from the University of Texas at El Paso and MS and PhD from California Institute of Technology.

Dr. Edward Rezek

Chair: ISV Finance Committee

Dr. Edward Rezek is chair of the ISV Finance Committee, and is retired from being an Operations Manager at Northrop Grumman Space Technology (formerly TRW Space & Electronics Group), an entity specializing in electronics development for US Government and commercial applications. His work experience has ranged from basic research and development to manufacturing and has covered the spectrum from advanced technology development for US Government space applications to manufacturing low cost components for commercial applications. He has received 19 patents and has greater than 50 publications in refereed journals. He is the 1993 recipient of the TRW Chairman’s Award for Innovation and the 2006 recipient of the Northrop Grumman Distinguished Innovator Award. Edward received a BS degree in Electrical Engineering and an AB degree in Physics from Washington University in St. Louis, MO in 1976. He received his MS and PhD degrees in Electrical Engineering from the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, IL in 1977 and 1980. He is an IEEE Fellow.

Dr. M. David Kankam

Chair: ISV Project Development committee

Dr. M. David Kankam is chair of the ISV Project Development committee. Dave serves as the University Affairs Officer (UAO) at NASA Glenn Research Center (GRC) in Cleveland, OH. He oversees the Center’s portfolio of NASA Higher Education opportunities for GRC-Academia partnerships and collaborations. Prior to his current position, Dave was a Senior Research Engineer at GRC for over ten years where he focused on power electronics-based systems for aerospace and terrestrial applications. He is a member of the Industry Advisory Committee for Cleveland State University’s Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering where he periodically teaches part-time. Dave is an active member of IEEE/IAS’s Industry Applications Control Committee (IACC) for which he has served in various Executive positions for over ten years. He is a Fellow of the IEEE. He holds a Bachelor and Master of Applied Science and Engineering degrees, as well as, Ph.D. all in Electrical Engineering, and a diploma in Business Administration from Canada’s University of Toronto (U of T).

Olga Anderson

Chair: ISV Education Committee

Olga Anderson is chair of the ISV Education Committee and oversees the committee’s seven working groups in STEM, vocational training, sustainable agriculture, women’s empowerment, humani-tourism, project management, and WASH. Olga works with ISV communities to create a holistic approach to K-12 education, adult vocational training, and alignment of enhanced community education programs with existing national curricula. With degrees in engineering, education, and philology, Olga has twenty years of experience in curriculum development and training of multi-lingual students and is co-founder of an R&D company developing sustainable energy technologies and accelerated modular courses in mathematics, engineering, and entrepreneurship

Alexander Anderson

Chair: ISV Partner Engagement Committee

Alexander Anderson is chair of the ISV Partner Engagement Committee, which is responsible for engaging new volunteers and assisting candidate community entrepreneurs develop their business and project management plans. Alexander is passionate about the enterprise system- of-systems approach to community empowerment and capacity building through establishment of community relationships, equitable education, and business development practice. He is CEO of EmpowerPack Social Purpose Corporation, dedicated to developing, assembling, and deploying affordable, rugged, and reliable information communications technologies and renewable energy solutions to increase access to healthcare, education, clean water, sanitation, electricity, internet, and capacity building in disadvantaged communities worldwide. His research interests include sustainable development, community electrification, microgrid optimization, community water/sanitation systems, advanced technical training, transactive power markets, and real-time power system simulation.

Dan Estes

Chair: ISV Marketing Committee

Dan Estes is chair of the ISV Marketing Committee. He is the Executive Director – Technology at Cox Business. He has more than 37 years experience in the telecommunications business having worked at BellSouth from 1981 to 2001 and for Cox Communications at present.  He is a Senior Member of IEEE and has been active in various chapters since he received his Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering at the University of Mississippi. Dan is a Professional Engineer and holds four patents in the optical telecommunications area.

Fuel IEEE Smart Village’s proven model of success by participating in the multi-million dollar humanitarian initiative and fundraising strategy now underway.